Nine patent drawing tools compared with PatentFig AI on eight published criteria: inputs, figure types, office-rule checks, export formats, editing, pricing transparency, data policy, and fit for attorneys. Every fact was read from the vendor’s own website on 8 September 2026.
Facts verified · Reviewed by Davie, founder of PatentFig AI
Features and prices were read from each vendor’s official website on the date shown. Items marked "Not published" were not disclosed by the vendor.

Nine tools plus PatentFig AI were checked on 8 September 2026. Prices and features were read from each vendor’s official site on that date; items marked "Not published" were not disclosed by the vendor, and we did not fill gaps from third-party listings. Reviewed by Davie, founder of PatentFig AI. The eight criteria:
Which sources the tool accepts: text, photo, sketch, screenshot, 3D model, native CAD, or only templates and a blank canvas.
Utility views, design view sets, exploded views, cross-sections, flowcharts, and block diagrams, as listed by the vendor.
Which offices the tool names as checked: USPTO 37 CFR 1.84, EPO Rule 46, CNIPA, JPO, KIPO, PCT Rule 11. "None" means no patent-rule check is offered.
PNG, SVG, DXF, vector PDF, TIFF, VSDX, and whether DPI is stated. Illustrator, Inkscape, and CAD are strongest here; several AI tools do not publish formats.
In-app editor, chat-based edits, version history, or none. Pinch has no editor; DeepIP, Solve Intelligence, PatentDrawingAI, and PatentFig AI edit in-app.
Whether a self-service price is published, and the entry price on the date checked. DeepIP and Solve Intelligence publish no price.
Training statement, retention and deletion terms, and certifications, exactly as published. Not stated is recorded as not stated.
Whether output can go to filing with review only, or needs a separate drawing pass for numerals, shading, and sheet formatting.
Three honest limits that a feature list does not show.
Pinch accepts STEP, IGES, X_T, and STL only. A photo, sketch, or text description cannot start a Pinch order, there is no in-app editor, and reference numerals and leader lines are added afterwards in the DXF files.
SmartDraw, Visio, Illustrator, and Inkscape draw one view at a time by hand and have no patent-rule checks, so a six- or seven-view design set is built, matched, and checked manually. They remain fine for a single flowchart.
PatentFig AI generates, edits, checks, and exports figures. Drafting the claims and description happens in DeepIP, Solve Intelligence, Rowan Patents, or Word; see the AI patent drafting tools comparison linked below.
The facts a procurement or conflicts review will ask about — the full detail lives on the trust page.
Prompts, uploaded disclosures, and generated figures are not used to train or fine-tune models.
Client material is encrypted in transit and at rest.
Figures and uploads can be deleted on request; retention follows the firm’s instructions.
Per-user accounts keep each matter’s figures with the people working it.



One row per product. Trade-offs list only limits the vendor states or leaves unpublished, as of 8 September 2026.
Inputs, figure types, office-rule checks, export formats, entry price, and data policy, as published by each vendor on 8 September 2026.
| Tool | Inputs | Figure types | Office-rule check | Export | Price from | Data policy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PatentFig AI | Text, photo, sketch, screenshot, 3D model | Utility, design view sets, exploded, cross-section, flowchart, block diagram | USPTO, EPO, CNIPA, JPO, KIPO, PCT (figure checker) | PNG, SVG, DXF, vector PDF; 300/600 DPI | Free tier; $50/mo | No training on customer content; delete anytime; closed accounts purged in 30 days |
| PatentDrawingAI | PNG, JPG, WebP images only (native CAD must be exported to an image first) | Utility, design, isometric, cross-section, block diagram, flowchart | 37 CFR 1.84 margins, sheet numbering and duplicate numerals checked at export; EPO, CNIPA, JPO, KIPO not stated | PDF, PNG, SVG, DXF (DXF "where supported") | $19/mo (about 5 drawings) | "Never trains AI"; TLS and encryption at rest |
| Pinch | Native CAD only: STEP, IGES, X_T, STL | 21 views per CAD file (14 utility + 7 cross-section); no flowcharts; exploded views listed as coming soon | States USPTO and international compliance; no named rule-check feature | PDF sets + 28 vector DXF; JPG | $50 per CAD file; first token free | Firewall statement; training policy not published |
| DeepIP (drawings module) | Sketch, photo, text, method steps | Line art, flowchart, sequence diagram; labels synced with the specification | USPTO and EPO formal-drawing rules | Not published | Not published (trial on request) | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 42001; no training; zero-retention Azure OpenAI |
| Solve Intelligence (Figure Builder) | Sketch, CAD file, disclosure document | Line art, cross-section from CAD, auto labels with editable lead lines | USPTO and EPO practice requirements | Editable in Visio and PowerPoint; other formats not published | Not published (demo only) | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001; no training; zero-retention with AI providers |
| SmartDraw | Templates and symbol library; Visio import; AI text-to-diagram for flowcharts only | Flowcharts, engineering and scaled diagrams (manual) | None | PDF, PNG, SVG, VSDX | $7.95/mo intro, billed annually | SOC 2 Type II; AI training policy not published |
| Microsoft Visio | Templates and shapes; DWG import on Plan 2 | Flowcharts, block diagrams, electrical schematics (manual) | None | PNG, JPEG, PDF; SVG on Plan 2 | $5/user/mo (Plan 1, yearly) | Not stated on product pages |
| Adobe Illustrator | Vector files, DWG/DXF, raster; Firefly text-to-vector | Any line art, drawn manually | None | AI, PDF, SVG, DXF, PNG, TIFF | $22.99/mo (annual plan) | Adobe states Firefly is not trained on customer content |
| Inkscape | SVG, PDF, EPS, DXF R13, raster | Any line art, drawn manually | None | SVG, PDF, EPS, PNG, DXF R12/R14 (no TIFF) | Free (GPL v2) | Local desktop app |
| SolidWorks / AutoCAD | Native CAD models | Engineering drawings; exploded views via Composer | Engineering drawing standards only, not patent rules | DXF, DWG, PDF | $2,820/yr (SolidWorks Standard) · $2,095/yr (AutoCAD) | Not stated on pricing pages |
Facts verified 8 September 2026 from each vendor’s official website. "Not published" means the vendor does not disclose that item; we did not fill gaps from third-party listings. Re-checked quarterly.
Verified 8 Sept 2026 · Updated quarterly
Generate compliant figures from a description, validate against your office, and export filing-ready files.